Primary Progressive Multiple Sclerosis

Disability is a matter of perception

I just wanted to touch on my illness and what it is, how it has effected me. I have primary progressive multiple sclerosis (ppms)

The four main types of MS are:

  • clinically isolated syndrome (CIS)
  • relapsing remitting MS (RRMS)
  • primary progressive MS (PPMS)
  • secondary progressive MS (SPMS)

Relapsing remitting MS is the most common form of the disease. People with RRMS have acute attacks followed by periods of remission in which the disease doesn’t progress. When this form becomes progressive, it’s called secondary progressive MS. The rarest form, primary progressive multiple sclerosis, is progressive from the start. There are no acute relapses or remissions in PPMS. About 15 percent (see link)of people with MS are diagnosed with PPMS.

This in turn causes me to have some disabling health issues which effect how we vacation. Some of the major factors are 1) mobility issues, 2) fatigue and 3) heat intolerance. As well as numerous more, too many to cover. If you would like to learn more about MS please visit National Multiple Sclerosis Society

This is my life and even with this disease, my husband and I go as much as we can and enjoy life as best as possible.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.